I don’t like absolute statements, but I’m tempted to say that all sin is rooted in our sinful, selfish desires to find pleasure and fulfillment outside of God. God, then, does not call us away from pleasure, but towards pleasure in Him rather than in our warped, sin-filled ways of seeking pleasure. We are to forsake the dry cisterns of selfishness for the living waters of following God, as Jeremiah so beautifully put it (Jer. 2:13).

My sinful desires reared their ugly head today when I didn’t get what I wanted. I wanted to go home and have lunch with my family, which is a good, potentially God-glorifying thing to do. Then, through some miscommunication, I came home to an empty house. They were at the store. Slight frustration set in and I reminded myself that I should have called before leaving. Then, as seemingly always happens, when I was done with lunch and ready to get back to work, they got home. So I stayed around a few minutes longer and played five minutes of Playdoh with Elaine… which sent my frustration higher because of my dislike for Playdoh. (I’m not sure why, but I just don’t like it.) Then, to top it all off, Andrea asked me to run two errands that would take about 10 minutes. 10 MINUTES! Can you believe the nerve! I’ve got things to do! A whole list of important ministry things to do was looming as obviously more important than honoring God with those fifteen minutes by loving my family as a gift of His grace and by seizing those “inconveniences” as opportunities to see and show His grace.

Sometimes when our three-year-old says she doesn’t want to do something I explain that life is often about doing things that you don’t really want to do or that might not seem that great at first. My airtight logic is often lost on here, but most people would agree that apparently inconvenient or even horrendous tasks often make up a joy-filled life. I acted like a three-year-old today, as I do to some degree everyday, and missed an opportunity to honor God by finding pleasure in the things He placed in front of me. I’m thankful for the cross, where I run for forgiveness, and the empty tomb that gives me new life and desires.

