A few weeks ago, possibly in response to the ringing of the phone, I began to sing the words, “Nobody’s home” to the tune of Beethoven’s 5th Symphony. I shared the vague memory of a commercial for funny answering machine tapes with Andrea, and when she had no recollection of it, youtube came through in proving I wasn’t losing my mind.

A few thoughts:

  • I love CDs and haven’t used a cassette tape in recent memory, but they still have a nostalgic awesomeness to them.
  • My mind has an amazing capacity for useless information – why couldn’t the phone ringing remind me of something important or meaningful?
  • Youtube is insane – how is it possible that I could find this anywhere but during the recorded commercial breaks on my VHS copy of The Karate Kid?
  • Doesn’t 14.95 plus shipping and handling seem a little steep?
