I just finished reading Why We’re Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck. It’s been on my “To Read” list since I received it at the Together for the Gospel ’08 Conference, and it’s appearance as one of Christianity Today’s books of the year pulled it off the shelf and into my hands. Also, given that I grew up in a conservative Christian church and am now in my 20’s but not a part of an emerging community, the title fits my life at this moment and motivated me to read it.

I echo many others who have said that this book is a great introduction to the emergent/emerging movement in the church, and would add that this would be a good read even for people who are completely unfamiliar with the topic, given that so many of the patterns of thinking in the movement seem to simply be a product of our culture’s way of thinking about and approaching God. I feel these currents of thought surging in the church at large, and at times see them rise above the surface in my own church.

DeYoung and Kluck are generous in their praise, precise in their critiques, and biblically centered throughout. They are both first-rate writers, blending humor and depth seamlessly, and I found the way they wrote every-other chapter made the book very engaging. The last chapter’s discussion and application of the church’s from Revelation 2-3 served as a great summary and action step for the book as a whole. DeYoung and Kluck had me thanking the emergent movement for their needed critique in certain areas, but, even more so, I felt well equipped to stand against the errors of thought and practice coming from this movement and elsewhere that are so dangerous to the historic Christian faith.

