This past Sunday our church began a 9 week journey through the New Testament called the “New Testament Challenge.” Over the course of 63 days, each person who has committed will read 4-5 chapters, usually from 2 different New Testament books. I am excited to see what God is going to do in my life and the life of the church as we seek God through His Word. Reading seems like such a simple, mundane task, but when the words are those of God himself, extraordinary things can happen. Andrea and I read the chapters together today and plan to do so as much as possible, reading on our own when it isn’t. That community aspect of joining with my wife and church family is almost as exciting as the reading itself!

I had revisited Mark Dever’s message from Together for the Gospel 2008 a few weeks ago, wherein he issued the challenge of reading the New Testament with the goal of discovering what the gospel is. So I have combined the church’s New Testament Challenge with Dever’s. After one day of reading, I’m praying for some wisdom. My fear is that I will simply pull out those things that I understand the good news of Jesus Christ to be and not allow Scripture to teach me. Is my understanding too broad or too narrow? I’m really not sure what I’m looking for, but I’m excited to see what God has revealed to me after nine weeks.

If you want to join the challenge, it’s never too late! Check out Hickory Creek’s website for a reading plan and some helps.

