Last night, Andrea and I, along with another couple, went out for dinner and a little bowling (classy!) in honor of Mother’s Day, leaving the kids behind. It was great to interact with friends without the distraction of kids, though it did strike me as odd that we celebrated Mother’s Day by leaving behind the two little people that made them mothers in the first place.

As we were driving home, fatigue set in. We’d had a busy weekend, starting with Elaine’s birthday party, complete with both sets of grandparents and a good representation of aunts. Sundays are also busy days for us, so my drooping eyes were no surprise. Have you ever had that “All-I-want-right-now-is-my-bed” feeling? Where you know you could fall asleep in a nanosecond if given the opportunity, but something (like driving) keeps you from letting yourself go? That’s how I felt. And you can never get that feeling back, especially after dragging a pack-and-play and diaper bag upstairs. And then about 15 minutes ago I had that similar “I’m-typing-at-my-computer-but could-put-my-head-on-this-keyboard-and-be-out-like-a-light” feeling.

At the risk of making a cheesy transition, it made me think of Psalm 121:1-4:

I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; From where shall my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth. He will not allow your foot to slip; He who keeps you will not slumber. Behold, He who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.

It’s a simple thought, but God never tires. He never has those feelings of extreme fatigue. He is always alert and awake. And the psalmist uses this truth to encourage us that this is the God who watches over us. In the midst of difficulty or life in general, God never nods off. It’s hard to imagine, given how much sleep I need. But it sure helps me to rest, and even sleep, easy, knowing He doesn’t.

